Environmental Health - Toxic Substances Hydrology Program

EH Science Feature Email Signup

Toxics Program Scientists Recognized in 2003

Dr. Allen M. Shapiro
Dr. Allen M. Shapiro. Photo Credit: USGS.

Toxic Substances Hydrology (Toxics) Program scientists have recently received several distinguished awards and recognitions.

  • Allen M. Shapiro will serve as the National Ground Water Association's 2004 Henry Darcy Distinguished Lecturer in Ground Water Sciences. Dr. Shapiro will speak about the development methods to characterize fluid flow and solute transport in fractured rock and their application to remediation of contaminated sites and the sustainability of water resources. This marks the fourth time a Toxics Program scientist has been selected as a Darcy Lecturer.
  • Barbara A. Bekins has been selected as the Geological Society of America's 2004 Birdsall-Dreiss Distinguished Lecturer. Dr. Bekins will speak about microbial degradation of contaminants and the hydrogeology of continental-plate boundaries. This marks the fifth time a Toxics Program scientist has been selected as a Birdsall-Dreiss Lecturer.
  • The American Society of Civil Engineers awarded Michael T. Meyer and his co-authors the 2003 Rudolph Hering Medal for their paper in the Journal of Environmental Engineering. The award honors a paper that makes a valuable contribution to the environmental engineering profession.
  • James E. Landmeyer was a co-recipient of the 2002 Phoenix Award for brownfields redevelopment at the South Carolina Aquarium, Charleston, South Carolina.

Related Science Features


More Science Features


USGS Home Water Land Resources Science Systems Ecosystems Energy and Minerals Environmental Health Hazards

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

USA.gov logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
Page URL: toxics.usgs.gov/highlights/awards_03.html
Page Content Contact Information: webmaster@toxics.usgs.gov
Page Last Modified: 16-Apr-2019 @ 05:15:32 PM EDT